EFMF Society

Edmonton Folk Music Festival Society:
Membership and Board Governance

The Edmonton Folk Music Society is a not-for-profit society registered under the Societies Act of Alberta that is dedicated to presenting and promoting folk music in all its diversity in Edmonton and Alberta. Members of the Society are all active volunteers who have demonstrated their involvement in and commitment to the Festival.

The members of the Society elect a nine-person board that sets operating policy and hires the Producer. Board members, elected from the membership, therefore, have in-depth knowledge of Festival operations and strong commitment to ensuring its success.

The Edmonton Folk Music Festival Society’s Board of Directors would love to hear from you! They welcome your comments, questions, or concerns. The Board meets most months on the first Tuesday, and meetings are open to the public. If you are interested in attending a meeting but would like more information, please reach out to the Board Chair who will be happy to help.

Cam McCormick - Chair - cmccormick@edmontonfolkfest.org
Marilyn MacGillivray - Vice Chair - mmacgillivray@edmontonfolkfest.org
Bridget Stirling - Treasurer - bstirling@edmontonfolkfest.com
Drew Walker - Secretary - dwalker@edmontonfolkfest.org
Jill Day - Director - jday@edmontonfolkfest.org
Gordon Holt - Director - gholt@edmontonfolkfest.org
Meredith Shewchuk - Director - mshewchuk@edmontonfolkfest.org
Michael Hughes - Director - mhughes@edmontonfolkfest.org
Shamair Turner - Director - sturner@edmontonfolkfest.org

How Do I Become a Member of the Society?

After you have completed two years as an Edmonton Folk Music Festival volunteer, you can apply to become a member of the society. Application with fees must be submitted and accepted prior to the AGM each year. To be approved, volunteers must be volunteers in good standing. Member fees are currently $20 per person or $30 per family (all members in the same household; Youth included in Family memberships must be at least 16 years of age). Annual membership is from February 1 to January 31 each year. For further information about terms of membership, please consult the Folk Festival Bylaws, available at the office.

Coordinators and Assistant Coordinators receive complimentary Society membership (eligibility requirements still apply). Please use the appropriate form below.

What are the benefits of being a Society Member?

  • You are able to run for the board and vote at the AGM
  • An invitation to the line up preview event
  • Participate on committees and get involved in society functions
  • Newsletters for society members
  • Social events with your fellow society members
  • Connect with other members via exclusive Facebook page
  • Get more involved with the festival!

Applications and renewals

The 2024 AGM is APRIL 21, 2024 at 1pm.

Details to be announced soon.

 2024 Membership applications/ renewals are open as of Feb 1st.

NEW MEMBERS

Apply to be a member before April 14, 2024!

Choose one of the following options to apply:

Coordinators + Assistant Coordinators - Use this form.

MEMBERSHIP RENEWALS

Renew your membership before April 14, 2024!

Use one of the following options to renew:

*If your membership has lapsed (ie. you missed the previous year) you must fill out a new application.

  • Online - Pay with Visa or MasterCard here; no need to fill out a form.
  • In person - Drop off at Edmonton Folk Music Festival office - please phone 780-429-1899 prior to arriving to ensure staff are available.
  • Mail - Print and fill out the form (don't worry about your volunteer history), and mail it with a cheque.

Coordinators + Assistant Coordinators - Please fill out this form each year to confirm your membership. Contact volunteers@edmontonfolkfest.org to pay for additional family members.

2024 AGM Documents

 ~ in progress, documents will be available in April ~

AGM documents from 2020 - 2023 are available by request to board@edmontonfolkfest.org