efmf society

Edmonton Folk Music Festival Society - Membership and Board Governance

The Edmonton Folk Music Society is a not-for-profit society registered under the Societies Act of Alberta that is dedicated to presenting and promoting folk music in all its diversity in Edmonton and Alberta. Members of the Society are all active volunteers who have demonstrated their involvement in and commitment to the Festival.

The members of the Society elect a nine-person board that sets operating policy and hires the Producer. Board members, elected from the membership, therefore, have in-depth knowledge of Festival operations and strong commitment to ensuring its success.

The Edmonton Folk Music Festival Society’s Board of Directors would love to hear from you! They welcome your comments, questions, or concerns. The Board meets most months on the first Tuesday, and meetings are open to the public. If you are interested in attending a meeting but would like more information, please reach out to the Board Chair who will be happy to help.

Andrew Currie - Chair - acurrie@edmontonfolkfest.org
Cam McCormick - Vice Chair - cmccormick@edmontonfolkfest.org
Bridget Stirling - Secretary - bstirling@edmontonfolkfest.com
Marilyn MacGillivray - Treasurer - mmacgillivray@edmontonfolkfest.org
Gerrit Bjalek - Director - gbjalek@edmontonfolkfest.org
Jill Day - Director - jday@edmontonfolkfest.org
Michael Hughes - Director - mhughes@edmontonfolkfest.org
Shamair Turner - Director - sturner@edmontonfolkfest.org
Drew Walker - Director - dwalker@edmontonfolkfest.org

How Do I Become a Member of the Society?

After you have completed two years as an Edmonton Folk Music Festival volunteer, you can apply to become a member of the society. Application with fees must be submitted and accepted prior to the AGM each year. To be approved, volunteers must be volunteers in good standing. Member fees are currently $20 per person or $30 per family (all members in the same household; Youth included in Family memberships must be at least 16 years of age). Annual membership is from February 1 to January 31 each year. For further information about terms of membership, please consult the Folk Festival Bylaws, available at the office.

Coordinators and Assistant Coordinators receive complimentary Society membership (eligibility requirements still apply). Please use the appropriate form below.

Applications and renewals now available.

The next AGM will take place on April 24, 2022 at 1pm

To apply to be a member by April 22, 2022:

  • Online - Download and fill out the application form, email to volunteers@edmontonfolkfest.org and pay by credit with the link sent.
  • In person - Not currently available.
  • MailDownload the application form; print and mail it with a cheque.

Coordinators + Assistant Coordinators - Use this form.

 

To renew your membership by April 22, 2022:

*If your membership has lapsed (ie. you missed the previous year) you must fill out a new application.

  • Online - Pay with Visa or MasterCard here; no need to fill out a form.
  • In person - Not currently available.
  • Mail - Print and fill out the form (don't worry about your volunteer history), and mail it with a cheque.

Coordinators + Assistant Coordinators - Please fill out this form each year to confirm your membership. Contact volunteers@edmontonfolkfest.org to pay for additional family members.